

LeaderReader

NOVEMBER 2020 EDITION

PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

Kimberly Berfield, '97

Well it's officially fall, y'all.

While the Tampa Bay Rays did not win the World Series, and the 2020 United Soccer League (USL) Championship final between the Conference Title Winners Tampa Bay Rowdies and Phoenix was canceled, we still have great reason to be proud of our hometown region.



That pride extends to all our regional organizations, which is why our Board of Directors, Selection, Bylaws, and Social Committees have been working hard. A number of our alumni reactivated their participation in the organization, which will bring a new level of excitement, expertise, and involvement.

First, the best part of serving our organization during a year with a pandemic has been reaching out to applicants accepted to our Class of 2021. Thank you to our Selection Committee: Sean King '15, Heather Ciampini '17, Howard McLymont '19, Marilyn Miller '17, and Committee Chair Rebecca Watson '19. We were not only successful in restructuring and utilizing a blind selection process, but we have seated a diverse class of 24-members. We will announce the Class of 2021 shortly once it is formalized. Please join me in thanking those committee members for their dedication and devotion to our organization and cultivating a stronger and more inclusive culture.

While the 2021 class will have a unique experience as compared to other classes, Suzy Sofer '15 and Wendy Barmore '16 have been instrumental in coordinating their Opening Retreat at The Belleview Inn for early December.

As we challenge ourselves and other alumni to engage or re-engage in Leadership Pinellas, we benefit from expertise and historical perspective, particularly as Jan Tracy '96 and Lynn Fuhler '89 provide leadership with the Bylaws Committee. They are ensuring we evaluate our current Bylaws and Policy & Procedures, organizational practices/processes, and reviewing the 2020 amendment recommendations.

Additionally, we are in the process of configuring what our Holiday Virtual Social is going to look like. We will be sending out invites to our members, having cocktails, welcoming a special guest, and giving away a prize or two. More to come shortly.

Feeling as we have not challenged ourselves as a board and organization enough with stretch objectives, the Board of Directors has started working on two goals outlined during our planning meeting earlier this year.

- The first is associated with marketing/communications and is being headed by Julie Perrelli. In our current environment, this area is critical to communicate with our alumni, community partners, and our community, stakeholders, and potential new members.
- Second, Tim Lima will evaluate the establishment of an annual signature event. The event will be structured around our mission to develop and enhance community leadership. This will be accomplished by providing a diverse group of emerging and existing leaders with the opportunity to increase their community knowledge and civic network while perpetuating their service to the community and our entire community engagement and being adaptable to meet whatever environment we find ourselves in during 2021.

We welcome any expertise and all assistance in these two areas. If you have 30 minutes to an hour a month which you are willing to give back to our organization, we ask you to engage. Please let us know by emailing contact@leadershippinellas.com.

As you can tell, we have had a full month and are excited to have each of you learning of our happenings and actively engaging with moving Leadership Pinellas forward. To paraphrase President John F. Kennedy's famous inaugural quote, ask not what this organization can do for you, but what you can do for this organization. Let's make the experience for others even greater than we had. We are counting on you.

Loyally, kb Kimberly Berfield President



SELECTION COMMITTEE COMPLETES INTERVIEWS FOR CLASS OF 2021

Rebecca Watson '19

The Leadership Pinellas Selection Committee, comprised of alumni members Sean King '15, Heather Ciampini '17, Howard McLymont '19, Marilyn Miller '17 and chaired by Rebecca Watson '19, had the great honor of engaging with each of the applicants for the Class of 2021 through our selection interviews. Central to this process was our

newly-designed, competency-based criteria which the committee employed to ensure an equitable, rigorous experience that upheld Leadership Pinellas values. This allowed us to select a diverse and dynamic group of 24 rockstars now officially known as LP Class of 2021! Many thanks to our Selection Committee members and LP leadership for their time and hard work. Congrats LP Class of 2021!

The Class of 2021 will kick off the year with an opening retreat in early December. Although no overnight stay will be part of the retreat this year, the committee has a fulfilling experience planned. This year will look different in a few other ways too. Instead of our nine program days each focusing on an industry or topic, this year Leadership Pinellas is introducing four regional-based days to encompass several topics. The first four days of the program year will take the class to a region of the county to see and discuss firsthand how Business, Government & Infrastructure, Environment & Tourism, and the Arts play a role in different parts of Pinellas County.

Committees have been at work to provide a fresh look into these topics within each region.

North Pinellas Day:

January 13, 2021

Clearwater Day:

January 27, 2021

Mid Pinellas Day:

February 10, 2021

St. Petersburg Day:

February 24, 2021

Education Day:

March 10, 2021

Human Services Day:

March 24, 2021

Emergency Services Day:

April 21, 2021

Criminal Justice Day:

May 5, 2021

Health Day:

May 19, 2021

Tallahassee:

April 5-7, 2021 (Tentative)

Thank You to Our 2020-2021 Corporate Sponsors

Platinum



Gold





Silver







Thank You to Our 2020-2021 Alumni Boosters

Liza Carter '07 Coleen Chaney '18 Jim Coats '02 Scott Daniels '93 Sally Evans '15 Cyndee Haydon '08 Tom Jamison '17 Skip Katz '15 Kevin Kenney '18

Tim Lima '16 Danielle Parker '18 Seema Ramroop '17 Nermine Rubin '09 Andrew Salzman '19 Eric Seidel '18 Jeannie Shapiro '00 Debbie White '95 Tiffany Whitney '11